An Homage to Professor Miguel Rubina from West Essex

Compiled by Arlene Rivera and Mohanad Kour

 

Our professor is continually looking to improve his teaching. He keeps it exciting, which makes us want to learn more. He is a challenging, motivating, clear, and excellent communicator. He understands and cares about his students at all levels. When we interact with the professor, he encourages participation in class.  He teaches us how to switch from short term memory to long term memory so we can be able to remember what we have learned for our future education. If we don’t understand a concept in class, the professor is willing to give the extra help after class. He switches you from confusion to understanding, as if he had access to some inner light bulb. His tests are not easy, but you never leave the class without understanding the material. Bio-102 is not an easy course but with his devotion, Professor Rubina made it simple to understand. We are exceedingly grateful to have a professor like Dr. Miguel Rubina Martinez.

  • Professor Rubina’s West Essex BIO-102 Class of 2016

 


 

Arlene Rivera Interview of Professor Miguel Rubina Martinez

AR– Why did you choose to teach at ECC?

PMRM– My history with ECC started in 2009. At that time I had a friend (Dr. Bernardo Mucha) who was working already here, who suggested to apply to work at the college. We were friends since Medical school, so he believed I would do fine at a college level. Then I met Dr. Jose Chestnut and Prof. Martin Asobayire who encouraged and motivated me to follow this path.

AR– What particularly drew you to this college?

PR– I knew about ECC from before, being an institution that has an important role in shaping the futures of many young people at Essex County, so to have that opportunity to teach there was definitely one of the greatest events that could happened to me.

AR– How do you believe your teaching style would help your student succeed?

PR– To be honest, at the beginning I was a little afraid. To teach at a college level is a very difficult task, since you cannot only talk about the topics, but you have to develop a technique that captivates the attention of the student in a way that they can acquire new knowledge, and then to motivate them to keep that attention completely throughout the course.

AR– How long have you been teaching?

PR– I‘ve been teaching for the past 9 years, but at College level since 2009.

AR– Is this the only college you have taught at?

PR– ECC is the first college level institution I’m teaching. I also teach at Kaplan Medical, which is an institution that specializes in preparing International Medical Graduates to pass the Board Examinations, in order for them to achieve a license to practice medicine in USA, and therefore to achieve their dreams.

AR– What do you do when your students are having a difficult time with the material?

PR– The approach that I try to enforce when I teach is similar to the educational statement: “Do not leave anyone behind.” I try to explain the subject in a clear and easy way, trying to make it interesting by comparing or matching those topics with features from the general day by day life. When I detect students that in spite of paying attention, can not get the idea of the subjects discussed, I try to explain to them again with different examples, in a way that is easier for them by comparing the subjects with themes they may understand. My goal is at the end of the class, each and all students will step out with a solid understanding of the topics discussed, then I encourage them that when they get home, they go repeat and review those topics, in order to strengthen and fix the knowledge.

AR– What do you like best or worst about your teaching?

PR– The best that I like is the satisfaction expression I get from my students when they acquire the knowledge they’re supposed to achieve. It is really rewarding to see them realize it was not that difficult to get this knowledge. I really love to teach…!!! What I really don’t like is when a student doesn’t do their part in this teaching process, which is just to pay attention and get involved with the learning process. The rest is in my hands…!!!

AR– How many years did it take you to achieve your profession?

PR– Well, I have to tell you I’m a physician by formation. I studied in my country, Peru, at Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, in the Faculty of Medicine. The career took 8 years to be completed. Even at that time, I used to do some teaching among my friends, when we were discussing the topics, especially when they were difficult or laborious to learn.

AR– What courses have you taught?

PR– I have taught some Biology courses. Bio 101, Bio 102, Bio 121 (A&P I), Bio 122 (A&P II). I have covered some of my friends with classes, even with one day of advice. I honestly believe that to teach the more basic courses of Bio 101 or Bio 102 is far much more complicated than the more complex courses, the reason being so is those courses are taught to students who just need the credits, with no personal interest on them. So, the effort in making an attractive course for them is challenging class by class.

AR– What are your teaching responsibilities?

PR– To achieve and complete the lectures in the allotted time according to schedule, that means that in many times, a professor needs to have a synthesis ability and be a good communicator as well, so the students will keep the interest in the course at all times.

AR– What was the most exciting thing that has happened in your teaching experience?

PR– I can recall like 3 or 4 times, students that told me “Professor I want to tell you that after taking your class, I have decided to switch my major to a science major.” I was very honored to hear those words and felt that I have accomplished one of the missions I have put forward for myself.

Screenshot_2016-04-07-15-26-08

AR– How do you handle the different ability levels of students in class?

PR– As I said before, I try to detect the students that are struggling with the subjects, and try to explain the topics until they can grasp the knowledge of them. If the time comes short to explain them, I tell them to go to the tutor’s center so they can have extra help. Unfortunately I don’t have extra hours so I can’t do this activity myself. Other students can handle the information quite fast, so I can either give them extra information or give them ways to apply that knowledge in other situations.

AR– What failures have you experienced and what have you learned from them?

PR– Well, I can say that in spite of all my efforts, there are still students who do not have a performance that allows them to pass the class. It’s always intriguing to me why will you put yourself in this type of stress at a college level if you do not have the commitment to assure a thorough and complete compromise with the class you are enrolled.

AR– What is the favorite part of teaching Biology?

PR– I believe that when I interact with the students, we develop a graphic. It’s so rewarding to see that they understood the graphic, even when they’re just scribbling. Even many of them take a picture of those graphics. The funny thing is that if you were not in the class, you would not understand those scribblings…

AR– How do you engage students, particularly in a course where they’re not understanding or have loss of Motivation?

PR– It has to be an entertaining lecture, so it can keep your interest from the beginning to the end of the course. If you feel lost, that’s when I came to your encounter to give you a hand and some hints, so you can recover your tract again. It is a difficult task, but very rewarding if you’re successful.

AR– How do you define good teaching?

PR– For me, the teaching process is not only to talk about the subjects. Even when we are in a college level and the effort of studying should fall in the students, the professor should be a person that communicates the knowledge, that does not stop until this knowledge is comprehended by the students using different techniques (board, slides, talking, examples). My personal approach to teach is very eclectic, trying to assimilate the good teaching styles I have seen in my life as a professor and as a student as well. All the professors I have met at ECC have that approach, to give their very best for the students, and I’m very proud of them.

AR– How do you adjust your style to the less motivated or under prepared student?

PR– These type of students are very difficult, so I have to move my teaching style in a way it is enjoyable for them. If we are talking about the nervous system, then I bring the subjects of how the process of feeling a sensation, processing the information and sending a response is done when you pinch your finger with a needle. If we speak about hormones, I’ll explain how they can be different from a male to a female, if we talk about melanocytes, we talk about the really important function they have (protection from UV rays), emphasizing the misconception people have to call two human beings different one from the other, just for this reason.

AR– Why did you choose teaching?

PR– I pursue teaching as a means of delivering knowledge to the students, for the purpose of allowing them to accomplish their goals and dreams, so in the future they can be useful members of the community and therefore have the tools necessary to improve it.

AR– What new skills have you learned over the past year?

PR– I have learned that there are different types of students, with different types of needs, and therefore different ways to teach each of them. With a lot of patience, I think I have developed a technique that is integral for all students that have a craving for learning.

AR– What questions have I not asked that you wish I would had?

PR– Probably this: What are the expectations you have from your students? I would say, the biggest ones…!! I expect all students to be interested in what I do and participate in class with all their fellows. I love to be seen not only as a professor but also someone they can count on with. Even, someone they can consider as a friend.

Screenshot_2016-04-08-11-12-57 (1)


Comments by Students

 

“I chose Professor Rubina for my two semesters of biology because he is an outstanding teacher. My first semester I thought I wouldn’t do very well because I tend to lack in science related subjects. But Professor Rubina made it as easy as possible for me to understand the material covered in class. I ended up having a good grade in the class and that’s what made me want to attend his class for a second time, this semester. Professor Rubina constantly goes over the information until students give him positive responses that the information is understood. I also appreciate the simplistic, real life examples he gives us in class to better help us to understand information. In all, Rubina is a great professor for biology.”

  • Rian Hill

 

“Professor Rubina’s love for teaching sets him apart from others. He’s enthusiastic and goes the extra mile to make sure everyone understands the material. We review the day of the exam before taking the test thus helping the students getting the answers and better understanding of what may still be unclear. Since the exams aren’t focused around definitions or memorization, we actually learn new and interesting material that we will remember. His love and enthusiasm for teaching makes him one of the few professors students enjoy.”

  • Jade Lockhart

 

“Thank you for being so patient with all of us (some more than others) breaking down each concept, drawing diagrams, making jokes, and explaining things until you are confident we understand the material. YOU ARE THE BEST!!!”

  • Vast’ Platt

 

“The professor shows passion for both teaching and discipline. He won’t allow talking while the lecture is in progress because he doesn’t want disruption for students that are willing to learn. He always begins his class with a short summary of what was previously discussed. He creates an exceedingly strict critical learning environment. I am thankful for having a professor like Dr. Rubina Martinez, Miguel for BIO 102.”

  • Mohanad Kour

Leave a comment