Essex Mural Arts

Professor Anna Choi Muniz and Professor Barbara Pogue’s Art 107-108 students participated in the Urban Issues Institute Local Government Internship program in partnership with the City of Newark and created colorful murals on the walls of the JFK Recreation Center in Newark’s Central Ward.

The project was worked on in November and completed in December 2014. The Mural Arts Program continues in the Spring semester with Professor Muniz’s Drawing ART 108 course and in the Summer I semester with the introduction of a new Mural Arts course.

mural 2

Photo Credit: Raymond Spencer

Zainab Muhammad: “I’m from the South Ward of Newark, New Jersey and I’m an Art Major at Essex County College. As an artist, my work is minimal with a simple aesthetic. I strive to make my work cohesive and versatile in anything art related. Being part of the mural program has allowed me to push myself and achieve any kind of work- even those that are unfamiliar.”

mural1

Photo Credit: Raymond Spencer

Sean Coates: “My work is very organic in that I rarely have a plan. Usually, I just create. I don’t consider mistakes to be errors, but something to work around. I’m grateful for the opportunity to recreate my work on a large scale.”

photo (7)

The completed mural.

Check out some of their amazing concept drawings and photos of the work in progress.  For video of the finished mural, check out essexvoices.com.

Leave a comment